Breastfeeding while Hiking

This post is not intended to offend anyone or to tell anyone whether they should breastfeed there little one. Everyone has their own experiences with how to feed their little one and will do whatever is best for all the individuals involved. This is a small look into my experience breastfeeding my daughters in the wild.

Breastfeeding on the trail has to be one of the easiest ways to nourish your little one on the trail, especially if they have not started solids yet. All you have to bring is yourself which makes it extremely convenient. The main disadvantage with breastfeeding while hiking is the weather. I remember breastfeeding my oldest while snowshoeing with some friends and I felt like my nipple was going to become cryogenically frozen. Besides keeping the boob young it is very uncomfortable.

On a softer note before having children, I never thought that I would be someone who would EVER post a picture of myself breastfeeding. However, as breastfeeding has become such an integral part of my life it seems like such a natural and normal act. I came across this picture and wanted to share this natural moment between a mother and daughter. This was taken in Finnhamn, Sweden during one of our wild adventures. During this adventure we took a row boat 5 minutes to another island where we got slightly lost in some woods and farmers field. Our 30 minute walk to a small town took us about 2 hours. Once we arrived at our destination we were exhausted and we ended up devouring a whole box of ice cream bars. Although the day turned out to be more epic than we had anticipated, my daughter and I were able to enjoy connecting with nature all during a lunchtime break. It felt very natural and very special.

 

breastfeeding while hiking
By Annika Mang
By Annika Mang

One comment

Leave a Reply

